#Testimonials of Himalayan Yoga Institute, Yoga Teacher Training Retreats, Yoga Teacher Training Intensive
      

Call us on +44 (0)7969157994

 
 
Home | About Us | Contact Us | Site map
 
 
View Basket   Checkout
 
 
 
   
 
   
 
 
 Yoga Teacher Training
 

Are you ready to take your yoga practice to a deeper, more meaningful level or teach others about the wonderful benefits of classical yoga?

  Dates, location, apply online
  What we teach
  How to apply
 We Accept
 
Subscribe to Newsletter



 

 
 Online Store
 

 

Testimonials

Yoga Teacher Training Testimonials


 

The Himalayan Yoga Institute teacher training was an experience like no other. You can read all about it, see photos, read testimonials but it's just not possible to imagine the vastness of knowledge that is shared with you in what seems like the fastest month of your life! The doors are opened to a whole new world and you have the privilege of being able to take a peek or fully explore the other side. Expertly guided throughout by the warmth and infectious passion of the radiant Ganga Devi, it's a once in a lifetime experience you'll never forget! :))

Ellie Marchione, Eastry Sandwich Kent, United Kingdom (YTT India, October 2018)

 

This training exceeded my expectations on every level. In addition to gaining the knowledge to teach yoga asanas to others, I have also acquired a deeper understanding of myself, of others and of the universe. Training alongside an incredible group of people from around the world, each with different cultures and stories, was a great privilege. And of course, this growth and learning could not have taken place without the guidance and patience of our teacher, Ganga, a truly beautiful soul. Her wealth of knowledge is inspiring. The course was well-structured, in-depth and has given me the foundation for a new life path. I am so grateful to have all of this philosophical and historical awareness and cannot wait to share in this pursuit for joy through yoga.

Isabella Staines, London, United Kingdom, (YTT India, October 2018)

 

After endless weeks of searching for the right YTT course my husband came across of Himalayan Yoga Institute. It caught my attention immediately, not only the location looked superb but the curriculum of the course itself had everything I could ever wish for and the fact that it was only an intimate group of students meant it more personal with great one to one approach. It only got better on arrival, meeting Ganga was definitely the highlight of this course. To say that she is a knowledgeable and professional teacher would be an understatement. Ganga Devi is one of a kind, her energy is so magnetic that you can’t help but be mesmerised by her. She possesses incredible knowledge of yoga, philosophy, Indian culture and anatomy … Ganga is very kind, loving, compassionate and caring but can be strict when needed to be a teacher. I found this course extremely unique, truly transformative, comprehensive, systematised and taught in the way that it’s easy to understand yogic philosophy. Not only we got to practice all core and supportive asanas but we had time to teach classes daily ourselves under Ganga’s supervision.  Course was  intense but packed with information that made us all feel empowered and come back to the world with all necessary tools to become a great confident yoga teacher. Forever grateful student.

Yuliya Poberezhnik, Stroud, United Kingdom (YTT Croatia, May 2018)

 

Having just finished my YTT 200 hour teacher training course in Croatia. I can honestly say choosing this yoga teacher training course was the best decision I have made. The Content of the course was amazing, so much information and depth and so extensive. Going far beyond other teacher training courses The course was challenging but the knowledge I learnt has taught me so much.
Ganga Devi is an inspirational, supportive teacher with so much wonderful knowledge to share. I thank Ganga for all her patience and help and thoroughly enjoyed my time with Ganga and all the amazing new friends I met during my three and a half weeks
I have enjoyed all aspects of the course and feel I have grown so much spiritually and mentally and now feel ready to start spreading the wonderful benefits of yoga.
The location and villa was beautiful, the food was nourishing and enjoyable. I have returned home feeling fitter, healthier and full of enthusiasm, and will continue to adopt this new lifestyle. I feel confident and ready to embark on spreading the benefits of yoga straight away. Thank you so much Ganga for your wisdom and knowledge I highly recommend this course.

Liz Brown, Nottingham, United Kingdom (YTT Croatia May 2018)


I was keen to teach yoga and was searching for a course that provided a holistic view of yoga, respecting the country of its origin, and tracing its roots, when by chance I was recommended this YTT and a link sent to me. I learnt so much more than I expected. Although challenging at times, it was worth every moment of hard work. Ganga, through her extensive knowledge, wisdom and intelligence has designed a course that dictates a lifestyle and discipline that enriches us each step of the way. I would firmly recommend this YTT to any aspiring student , despite the demands  and expectations, for it is  wholesome in its presentation, delivery and practice of asanas, meditation, lectures on history, philosophy, metaphysics of Rajadhiraja yoga, sattvic diet and the guidance one receives during the asana teaching sessions. I don’t deny that this YTT course is the crème de la crème of all yoga courses. Ganga is fair, strict, disciplined, patient and considerate. Ganga perpetuates, embodies and imparts the beauty and reverence of what yoga should be and is. The location, seclusion and beauty of the magical island and the lovely people I met on this YTT course further added to the uniqueness of the entire package. The friendship, support and help each member gave to the other bonded us as a group. It is an unforgettable experience and I intend to share and spread the benefit s of yoga by adhering to the way I was taught. Namaste Ganga and thank you very much.

Kala O’Donnell, Northern Ireland, (YTT Croatia May-June 2018)

    

"Everything about this course, from start to finish was wonderful: the cute room, the wonderful roommate. I felt at home. The food was fresh, tasty and very appetizing. The location was a joy, clean air and a beautiful sea view, so green. It really calmed my mind. The philosophy classes taught by Ganga were incredibly interesting and wonderfully inspiring. The asana teaching classes gave me confidence and self-esteem and I enjoyed every minute of it. The workshops were a great opportunity to be playful and to laugh with Ganga – so much fun.
I loved every minute of the course and I really do feel that we are now family. I am overjoyed that I decided to do this course. It’s the best, most wonderful decision I have taken in my life. Ganga, I am so glad I’ve met you. You are fair, caring, giving and wonderful in every way.
Your teaching style is calm, patient, interesting, invested and enthusiastic. I enjoyed every minute of every lecture we went through. The philosophy of yoga is the philosophy I was looking for when I was depressed and lost in a fog. I feel I have a good base to stand on and strong roots now. You've given me confidence and security to be myself and to be a teacher. I am incredibly thankful for meeting you and I feel immensely blessed that I was able to spend a month with you, taking in your teachings."
Lada Teleki, Novi Sad, Serbia (YTT Croatia, June 2015)
 
   

I completed the 200hrs TTC in Croatia. Ganga Devi is an inspiring teacher, with a lot of knowledge and great stories to share. I enjoyed learning from her. Her teachings are authentic and her knowledge goes beyond what I expected. We stayed in a cute apartment with an amazing view. The island of Losinj is beautiful and a great place to have this course. We were looked after very well; the yogic sattvic food was wonderful. (And turned me vegetarian).

The course was intensive. You learn a lot in a short time. Sharing every moment of every day with others was also a challenge for me. I was lucky to be part of a really great group of people who supported each other.

Being back home, I feel I have sufficient knowledge to start teaching. But the sattvic diet and personalized daily practice of Rajadhiraja Yoga brought me something even greater... after 4 years of trying to conceive, I'm happy to share I am now 5 months pregnant. While on the course I shared with Ganga that I had difficulty conceiving. She advised a routine including the practice of selected asanas, diet and fasting. This personalized practice was offered as a bonus on top of the training and it involves tailored routines and yoga therapy. It looks like the personalized practice had a far reaching effect, as I became pregnant shortly after incorporating her prescribed routine into my daily life!!!   

Audrey Toren, Amstelveen, Netherlands (YTT Croatia June 2018)

 

My yoga teacher training experience at Himalayan Yoga Institute has expanded my mind and even more so my heart. I have learned so much about yoga, more than I ever thought possible. I feel prepared to teach and apply the multiple techniques that I learned during the course. Ganga Devi is an inspiration and extremely thorough in her teachings. The ashram was beautiful, located in mystical South India. I have made life long friends from this journey and I am truly grateful.

Krystal Brunton, Fredericksburg, VA, USA (YTT India, October 2018)    

 
   
 

 The teachings are of exceptionally high quality - well informed by Ganga's deep personal practice - and rounded across the Eight Limbs of Yoga. The small group size meant that we received plenty of attention and support, which was tailored to us individually. I have completed the course confident and assured that the knowledge and skills I have acquired, are well informed, from a truly authentic source, and offer students teachings of special value.

Rachel Entwistle, London. UK (YTT India, March 2018)

 

I feel that this unique training was designed especially for me, because I have a disabled son and taking care of him is very demanding and occupies all my time. It took me a lot of effort to organize everything to be able to leave him for a whole month, it wouldn’t have been possible for me to leave him longer. I feel lucky for having been able to learn so much just in one month! And now I can say that meeting Ganga and doing the course with her is the best thing that happened in my life. I got much more than I expected. Ganga was teaching us with her True Presence. It’s a rare and unique opportunity to be taught directly by a highly evolved individual, just being in the same room with her was making me into a different person every day. And now, after only one month, I’m an upgraded version of myself in every way! For example, I’m vegan and do regular fasting without any effort! It feels so natural when you really understand the reasons behind it.

Needless to say that the teaching was very professional, every part of it was comprehensive and well-thought through. The atmosphere was peaceful and magical, even the two sweet dogs, who live on the land, were attracted to our lectures whenever we had them in the garden. We worked hard and had lots of fun at the same time! I just feel truly blessed having had this experience and can only say THANK YOU.

Lyudmila Kostrykina, London, United Kingdom, (YTT India, October 2018)


I felt very peaceful from the arrival to the end, because of the special spirit of Ganga Devi. She blessed my life with joy and belief in a better world. The location (Losinj, Croatia), the house and the food (Sattvic) completed the perfection and quality of the time with Ganga Devi and the deep work done on myself during my stay there. I will miss everything! The teaching method of Himalayan Yoga Institute is so useful, clear and safe, like I have never seen before... I recommend Rajadhiraja Yoga to all because of the asanas and of the spiritual vigour.

Dianira Lopes, Port, Switzerland (YTT Croatia, August 2017)

 

Himalayan Yoga Institute’s 200 hour yoga teacher training was truly life changing.  Ganga Devi is a wealth of knowledge, inspiration, patience and love.  I came to the course in hopes of deepening my knowledge of yoga and building a firm foundation for teaching - I left with so much more.  The breadth and depth of information was overwhelming in the most positive sense. Ganga covered everything from philosophy, physiology, biopsychology, anatomy, history, sattvic diet, mudras, bandhas, kriyas, pranayama and breath work, meditation and of course asanas (including but not limited to alignment, benefits and adjustments). It is evident that Ganga is not simply teaching this information for the sake of transferring knowledge — she is authentically passionate about inspiring others to live life to the fullest through Rajadhiraja Yoga.

Britton Shores, San Francisco, USA, (YTT Croatia, August 2017)

 

The yoga teacher training course in Croatia led by Ganga Devi was very inspiring.

It was a true example of the yogi’s life, a challenge that taught me a lot. People can be easily lost in their daily problems and difficulties. With the help of yoga and her principles we can find the right path of personal development, discipline and peace, leading us to our real life purpose. Ganga perfectly designed this school, presenting to us, in a methodical manner, the most essential aspects of yoga such as the proper selection of food for yogis, disciplined asana practice and meditation for spiritual growth. I'm overjoyed to have been part of this yoga course, in the company of such beautiful people. In order to help others it’s important to cultivate correct knowledge, and therefore it’s crucial to learn from the right teacher, one who is capable of conveying the teachings authentically. On this YTT course I learned how important it is to spread knowledge and help people see their true nature, help them realize their creative inspiration so they may express their true talents, help them perceive the true purpose of life, so we may all together realize peace and the beauty of this world. I am deeply thankful and I warmly recommend this school, led by the best teacher I know, Ganga Devi, to everyone eager to develop self-knowledge. Ganga shares her peace, tremendous knowledge and true beauty with all. Thank you. Namaskar

Ivancica Sedlar, Karlovac, Croatia, (YTT Croatia, August 2017)

 

The teacher training course at the Himalayan Yoga Institute was in my opinion the most ideal Yoga course. It provided holistic training by teaching the spiritual, mental and physical aspects of Yoga amidst the natural splendour of the Himalayas. The course taught us Yoga philosophy and practice, and at the same time trained us to confidently pass on these invaluable teachings to others from Day 1 of the course. The dedicated trainers of the course inspired and empowered us students to transform into devoted and knowledgeable Yoga teachers like themselves. I would strongly recommend this course to anyone seeking authentic and holistic Yoga training in a Gurukul setting.

Dina Tapodhan, Sydney, Australia (YTT India, October 2017)


I would highly recommend everyone to do this course. It’s educational, it’s challenging, it changes you (for the good) and it demands your 100% attention. 

I decided to this course because I wanted to study yoga in an intimate, quiet and comfortable environment and that is exactly what I got. It was amazing having a small group of ladies to go through the experience with and I believe we will be friends for life.

Ganga is great, she’s exactly what you want in a teacher. She is a very kind lady who wants to bring out the best in all her students. She is not only inspirational but is somebody who I feel I can always get in touch with whenever I may need guidance.

Kym Haverson, London, United Kingdom (YTT Croatia, May 2018)

 

The accommodation was perfect in beautiful surroundings. Ganga’s philosophy classes were incredible – I can’t fault them. The asana classes and workshops were very enjoyable and fun. Ganga’s feedback on my asana teaching was always practical and helpful. I learned a lot and feel I have grown not only in my yoga practice but also as a person – spiritually and mentally. Thank you so much!

Karly Campbell, Richmond, Australia, (YTT Croatia June 2017) 


The location and surroundings of the course are set in a beautiful quiet area. Every day the food was prepared freshly and with love.

Ganga’s philosophy classes were interesting and full of real life stories and other wisdom stories. I was so amazed by the Indian history, Tantra and Ayurveda.

The morning asana classes were very well structured and conducted with excellent sequencing. The detailed asana classes in the afternoon were highly practical and hands-on. The feedback on my teaching was excellent and I tried to absorb all the advice Ganga was giving me. I will remember this course as a huge mental challenge. I am very grateful to Ganga for taking me out of my comfort zone and encouraging me to overcome my fears and worries.

Ivana Rodin, Rijeka, Croatia (YTT Croatia, June 2017)

 

The decision to undertake this yoga teacher training course was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. It was a transformative experience on the physical, psychological and spiritual level. This course has strengthened my discipline, provided me with well-rounded knowledge and skills to start teaching yoga and also facilitated my spiritual development. I am extremely grateful to Ganga for her immense wisdom and love she shared with us during the month. I felt blessed having such an inspirational and supportive teacher who really cares about students’ progress and is able to provide constructive feedback and advice. The course was very well organised and comprehensive. I really enjoyed and benefited highly from all lectures and workshops (especially enjoyed philosophy and dance). The daily schedule kept us focused and was very well planned. We also had excursions to beautiful towns and lovely walks in the local area. Living in the ashram was an immersive and authentic experience, which helped me learn a lot about myself and others. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. The food was delicious and the surroundings were stunning. Part of my heart will always stay in that beautiful village in the Himalayan Mountains. I enjoyed every single day of this course and left it filled with love, joy, confidence and determination to follow the yogic lifestyle and share yoga with others.

Justina Kaselionyte, London UK, (YTT India, April 2017)

 

The training was a lot more than just learning how to teach yoga. It was absolutely inspirational and I truly enjoyed each and every moment of it as if I can’t put all in words. The classes and its contents were very structured; we had the chance to teach after the second week and the constructive feedback from our teachers helped us to increase awareness and encouraged our development. Also the books and material provided were great, particularly a fully designed beginner's course. Ganga, with vast knowledge and experience of the subject lead us throughout the course with much passion and patience, her ability to explain and illustrate concepts was excellent. Her philosophy classes were extremely enjoyable and the workshops beautiful. Lastly, the stunning Himalayan landscape offers the perfect setting for learning, concentration and a deep spiritual practice. Definitely the most comprehensive and rigorous YTT course. Muchas Gracias y nos vemos en el proximo curso!

Maddy Bohorquez, London UK, (YTT India, April 2017)

 

The Himalayan Yoga Institute was an excellent program that provided a solid foundation for understanding and practicing yoga. After a great deal of research I chose this school for its traditional guru-style approach. Many western schools only teach asana's and I wanted to understand the meaning behind the practice, its origin, and I got to do all of that by learning from a real guru with over 30 years of experience in India while staying in an Ashram in the Himalaya's. If you are serious about learning what yoga is all about, why yoga is not just about asana's, and where it all came from, then this is the school I'd recommend! Lastly, the material taught by Ganga Devi continues to work its magic and blossom like a lotus flower even after you've left the Ashram. I am forever changed and eternally grateful for having this opportunity to learn from a true yoga master - Ganga Devi. Namaskar!

Melanie Vander Valk, New York, USA, (YTT India, April 2016)

 

Ganga helped me to develop my own personal practice by giving be the foundations of meditation, philosophy and asanas specific to my issues. The ashram style of living is conducive to developing good self-discipline, adherence to a yogic diet and to develop greater awareness of the impact of one's actions and thoughts. This training was as much of a gift for myself as it was to others in developing as a teacher.

Ganga was more 1:1 than expected. She taught nearly all the yoga classes, with only a guest lecturer for the physiology and anatomy section. It was great to learn directly from Ganga as she has much wisdom and knowledge to offer.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was challenging and full-on with little personal time but that is what I was after (not a holiday). Croatia was a beautiful, clean setting to do it in and the content of the course covered a breadth of topics. As someone who was already a yoga teacher in a different style of yoga, it filled in the gaps in the history and philosophy, and the more traditional asanas. The course goes above and beyond, allowing you to be able to structure your own classes, provide hands-on modifications, incorporate cleansing techniques, and exposure to Indian dance - which is not available in every yoga teaching training course! I definitely felt more confident to teach and was able to hit the ground running. It also helps you form a basis for self-discipline when you eat, breathe and sleep the yogic way of life!

Lesley Santos, Edinburgh, UK, (YTT Croatia June 2016)


The three and a half weeks I spent in Mali Losinj, Croatia engaging in YTT with Ganga Devi was a truly wonderful experience and one I will never forget. The twice-daily meditation and asana practice were a dream come true for me (and are practices I continue in my daily life now). I also really enjoyed Ganga’s lectures on Yoga philosophy, Ayurveda and Yogic diet (to name just a few of the topics) and the breadth of knowledge that was passed on in the YTT was truly astounding. The overall experience was truly authentic and Ganga was a wonderfully warm and inspiring teacher. I am incredibly grateful for the knowledge and experience that was passed onto me during the course and which now enables me to become the Yoga teacher that I’ve dreamt of becoming.

Triona Gibbons, Kilbarry Fermoy Co. Cork, Ireland, (YTT Croatia, September 2016)

 

"I am a lawyer and the head of an a non profit organization (consumer-protection).

The highlight of my four months sabbatical was the yoga teacher training in Croatia. From the Himalayan Yoga Institute’s newsletter I already knew, that all yoga issues were discussed profoundly and I hoped to experience not only asanas, but all aspects of yoga. Ganga offered an all-around training. It was immense how much input we got in philosophy and teaching - all the while I could experience that my body was becoming stronger and neglected muscles and space in my head grew as well. Being home now all the benefits of the programme still sink in - I love chanting in the morning and prefer sitting on the floor now; feeling much more flexible and alive. If you are looking for a life-changing experience you will find it in the YTT of Ganga! "

Thank you again, dear Ganga.

Sylvia Sonnemann, Hamburg, Germany, (YTT Croatia September 2016) 

 

"I have done my yoga teaching course in Croatia. Living in a lovely villa by the sea surrounded by nature, peace, eating and breathing yoga every day was an experience of a lifetime. I am very happy to be able to receive all that knowledge from a devoted, happy ,funny and very motivating teacher - Ganga. I am very grateful to have been a part of that training. Our group counted only 7 students and because of that we are very blessed to received personal advice about asanas, philosophy of yoga and meditation. Getting a personal mantra and spiritual name is another great thing which I think is an advantage. I feel more confident as a teacher now knowing that I got my knowledge from an inspired and dedicated teacher who holds bags of experience. I would warmly recommend this course to one and all."

Izabela Stasiewicz, London UK, (YTT Croatia September 2016) 

 

My primary reason for joining the course was to find out why yoga worked so well. The answer was given in the first few days and from then on, I continued learning so much more. The world of yoga is massive. I became painfully aware of my own character and perception of life, which did not always coincide with yogic living. However, after 3.5 weeks of asana practice, sattvic diet, lecture classes, fun studying with roomies, breathing in fresh air, fighting with mosquitoes, sunbathing at the beach, singing-dancing-meditating, I am pleased to say I feel l like a yogi and a better version of myself. Thank you Ganga, none of this would have happened without your inspirational, competent, truthful teaching. I am grateful to have met you.

Hiroko Nodera, Tokio, Japan, (YTT Croatia September 2016) 

 

If anyone is thinking of doing a yoga teacher training, this is the school I did mine with and can't recommend the course and Ganga Devi enough. Be prepared to work hard and learn more than you can imagine!

Yasmina Cherquaoui, London UK, (YTT Croatia June 2015) 


I am privileged to have been taught by Ganga Devi who is a totally dedicated and highly knowledgeable Yoga Acharya. This is a very special programme which has a lasting effect on all who attend and is a most excellent preparation for teaching. I would not hesitate to recommend this school to anyone looking for an authentic, rewarding yoga teacher training course, in both locations: Croatia and the Himalayas. Ganga's teaching is sincere, focused, disciplined and precise. She gives a great deal of individual attention to every student. This course is for people who are looking for an in-depth understanding of the yogic philosophy and lifestyle and an empowering preparation for teaching the asanas with confidence.

Wendy Bird, London, UK (YTT Croatia, October 2015)

 

Kullu Valley Ashram a magical place and space, which opens your eyes & heart!!! Surrounded by nature; mountains, birds and the lovely local people ... the sweetest part of India I have been till now. The devotion of Ganga for her work and path makes this training totally unique, after these 3 weeks I experienced a deep transformation and connection with my Self!!! Once she took us walking through the small villages nearby to a temple with a tree next to it, I just experienced magic in that holy place! You have to experience it by your self to live and feel the beauty I try to describe and the charismatic and devotional teacher Ganga is! .... Looking so much forward to knowing the new Ashram in the South:), much love ... Namaste!!!!" 
Francisca Anselmi, Uruguay, (YTT India, September 2011)

 

I was thoroughly challenged by the course and enthralled with all the information I received. I learnt about teaching asana which was my initial goal but I got so much knowledge of yogic philosophy, diet, health, tips to being a successful yoga instructor and information on anatomy also. I left the course feeling like I could now be a yoga teacher and taught my first class the next day in a hostel. It was a wonderful life changing experience and having it with only 8 people makes it intimate and thorough. Ganga is undeniably so very knowledgeable and passionate about all the elements of yoga. She inspired me to do so much more with yoga in the form of meditation and taught me a style of yoga which benefited my soul, mind and body. Having spoken to other people who took other intensive courses, I believe this one to be a cut above the rest, I would strongly recommend it to those who are looking for more than just asana teaching.

Helen O'Shea, Milton Keynes, UK (YTT Croatia, May 2014)


"I will be forever grateful to Ganga for having shared her knowledge of the ancient wisdom of yoga with me. When I booked my training at the Himalayan Yoga Institute, it didn’t take me long to feel assured of my decision. Actually, I started looking 6 months in advance, and less than two weeks later I had already booked my place. And this was one of the best decisions I ever took in my life. The training went beyond my expectations, not only because the curriculum of the training was very complete (and went very deep on many subjects), but also because of the teacher giving the training, Ganga. Ganga belongs to a category of rare persons you will meet in your life. She is truly genuine, compassionate, she radiates with happiness and I am sure, inspires many people on her path, and I am one of them. With an arising popularity of yoga in Western countries, it is hard to find an authentic teacher, but even more so authentic trainings which do not just focus only on the physical side of yoga, the asanas. I loved to learn about the history of India, the country of origin of yoga, as well as the philosophy behind yoga practices. As a result, I feel like I can better serve my students in their growth, as yogis, but also as human beings. Without imposing any belief, this training succeeded in showing me another perspective to life. Moreover, human anatomy, as well as human biology were well covered, and even made me want to deepen my knowledge of the human body and its functioning. Before my training I did not know much about this subject, so I was afraid that I will struggle and not be able to understand, but this was not the case at all."

Romy Leduc Schraenen, Quebec, Canada (YTT India 2014)

 

This training was invaluable to my self-practice and my path as a yoga teacher. I would and have recommended this training to all friends and fellow trainee yoga teachers. I left the ashram confident in all aspect taught in the course.

Siobhan Power, London, UK (YTT India April 2014)

 

Doing my yoga teacher training with Ganga Devi was one of the most unique and uplifting experiences of my life. I felt myself become more present in the happenings of life in the ashram. Daily asana practise & meditation allowed me to focus my mind on the information Ganga would share with us through her beautifuly presented lectures. Information that made perfect senses and helped me to overcome many issues in my own life. The experience of being at the Ashram was one filled with love and togetherness. The knowledge I came away with, not only allowed me to teach yoga, but also to make better life choices and see the bigger picture outside of my own little world.. Ganga is a beautiful soul, rich with knowledge. She taught me so much and for this I am so grateful.

Elissa Chrisson, Sydney, Australia (YTT India April 2014)


"This course is not just a teachers training course...
It is an inspired journey with every moment meticulously considered and planned, conducted with unwavering patience and love. Always love.
Living and learning with Ganga in a small group (as students did in the ancient Gurukula system) provided the perfect opportunity to receive personal guidance and advice with regards to asana practice, meditation and philosophy.
I leave this course not only confident to instruct an asana class, but with a firm foundation on which to grow spiritually and to share this newly acquired knowledge with all I meet."
... With so much love and utmost respect
Jean Dollery, South Africa (YTT Croatia, May 2011)


 "The 200-hours YTT course goes well beyond physical asanas with very experienced and sincere teachers providing a comprehensive lifetime experience in the majestic Himalayan mountains which have always attracted true Yogi/nis."

Dr. David Haberlah, Brisbane, Australia (YTT India, March 2011)

 

"The yoga teacher training in the village ashram was a unique experience which I feel could not be gained from a typical training elsewhere. Being truly immersed in the yogic lifestyle, and living on premises with the teacher, is a must for the true yogic experience. As soon as you leave the training you will realise just how much of a truly amazing impact asanas, meditation, and pranayama have on every level of your being, and you'll be so inspired to carry on with these and share them with others. This 3 weeks was like nothing I've ever experienced before and I feel very blessed to have been guided onto this path."

Beth Bridges, Sydney, Australia (YTT India, September 2011)


"The way I found out about the Himalayan Yoga Teacher Trainjng was through a series of fortunate events and dear encounters. Now that I have completed the course, I am profoundly aware that all along the way I have been bestowed with grace. Very importantly, I feel more confident as a yoga teacher now, because I received the best and most authentic instruction given with love and discipline empowering the expression of the minds and hearts of us all." 

Tanja Nikolic, Sal, Cape Verde (YTT Croatia, June 2011)


"Incorporating in my life a meditation practice lead me to the Himalayan Institute YTT course in Kullu Valley. I arrived with that intention, yet had no expectations on how.  After three weeks, that flew by with a busy schedule, the goal I had set was achieved and exceeded. I leave now with a new perspective on a healthy lifestyle through sattvic diet, kriya cleansing, everyday asanas and meditations to maintain a balance between mind, body and soul. Also, I have now intentions of teaching to pass on, as best I can, the wisdom and love that Ganga relayed to me."

Brooks Wilson, Costa Rica (YTT India, September 2011)

 

Today is my last day in India. It was a life changing experience, heart and mind opening! I feel sad that it's over, but at the same time  excited to get back home and share everything I have learned from you, Ganga. It was much more than I expected, it's not just a yoga school, it is a school of life. I feel blessed that I got to do it. Gurukula is definitely the best way to learn. Because you can see how to incorporate yoga into your daily life. And how wonderful it feels!  Although the whole routine was tough and strict, there is a good reason behind it: to develop self-discipline, for the purpose of a deep and long journey within. And I hope I can carry this knowledge throughout my life sharing it with others, making people happy. Thank you again for the amazing time!"

Karina Hulsey, USA (YTT India, September 2011)


"I participated in the teachers training Mali Losinj 2012. I not only came away with the ability and qualification to teach yoga, I also learnt an all-round spiritual practice. I came away with the feeling that my body, mind and soul had been lifted. Seeing the world through the eyes of a yogi/ni it's a much more beautiful place. Many thanks, Ganga."

Sophie Ghazai, London, UK (YTT India, June 2011)


Linking the ancient heritage of yoga starting from Shiva and Bhagavad Giita to 20th century masters and discoveries in modern psychology was a new approach in this course.

Markus Rosbach, Haiti (YTT India, April 2011)

 

"Ganga’s classes were excellent and her personalized feedback was very useful so that I know how to improve my teaching. The schedule was good for resetting my internal clock to a more conducive one.
Thank you so much for all of your kindness, love, energy, and wisdom that you imparted this month. It was an amazing experience with many positive physical and spiritual rewards! I know that there are many more to come as well.
I am excited to return home to be able to continue practicing, learning, and planning classes.  Several of my friends and family are ready for the physical and emotional healing that yoga brings.
Thank you Ganga for a lovely month. You were a pleasure."

Mechelle Sanders, Arkansol, USA (YTT Croatia, June 2015)


I am happy to have chosen this course as this is exactly what I needed at the time. This yoga teacher training does not only focus on the asana- the posture, but also its origin and how yoga nowadays is closely linked with the ancient yoga practice. The content of this course broadened my understanding of yoga, and how to incorporate yoga practice into real life.

Shelley Chi Vah Lam, Bordeaux, France (YTT India, October 2015)


Living in an ashram for a month, fully devoted to yogic lifestyle/philosophy was an experience of a lifetime. One that not only had a profound impact on me while I was training there, but continues after my return to the US and I'm sure will continue for the remainder of my life. I am very happy with the education/instruction I received and the time each of us had with Ganga (main instructor). The discussions we had in some of our lecture classes were fascinating. The education is thorough and the number of asana's learned was above many of the other courses I was looking at.

Heather Trautman, Minneapolis, USA (YTT India, April 2015)

 

Wonderful teacher and beautiful location, highly recommend it for a personal transformation.

Jany E. Thomas, London, UK (YTT India, April 2014)

 

My sincere thanks go out to Ganga Devi of the Himalayan Yoga Institute for providing a very complete teacher training programme that took me on a beautiful journey of self discovery and growth that has enabled me to teach confidently from experience. The focus on the benefits of the poses not only on the physical body but on the subtle body and the endocrine system has been hugely beneficial. I feel I have a solid, authentic base from which I still have space to be creative and develop my own teaching. With deepest gratitude, thank you.
Paula Andreewitch, London UK (YTT India April 2014)


Ganga Devi is a skilled teacher who shared her knowledge with tremendous warmth and depth. The beauty and serenity of the Kullu Valley with sight of the magical Himalayan Mountains, was the ideal environment in which to develop yoga and meditation skills. The overall experience has had a tremendous positive and lasting impact on me. It has given me a memory that I will always treasure and provided me with a gift of self-care practices that enhances my life and the lives of those with whom I interact.

Beverly Drakes, London, UK (YTT India, April 2014)

 

The Himalayan Yoga Institute teaching training was truly life changing and exactly what I was looking for in a teacher training program. The curriculum was very well thought out and I learned so much. Ganga is a very talented and passionate teacher. Paula, the assistant instructor, is so helpful and teaches the most beautiful classes. Both Ganga and Paula are such inspiring people to be around and learn from.

Cara Stampfle, Boulder, USA (YTT India, April 2014)

 

I found the Himalayan Yoga experience one to be recommended to all. The teachers were incredibly attentive of our needs and were therefore able to adapt accordingly so that we not only learnt, but enjoyed learning. A very enriching experience.

Thomas Hallam, Cambridge, UK (YTT India, April 2014)

 

Wow, what a course. I have never learned so much in so short a time and what I have learned has changed my life. I expected to be pushed physically and I was and I loved every moment of it. I didn't expect to love the study at all, but I loved every moment of this too, I was fascinated, challenged and inspired every day. Thank you Ganga for all the dedication, enthusiasm and care you put into the course, you are amazing. My mind has been expanded, my body tuned and my soul uplifted. Can't wait to do the advanced course.    

Anne McNaughton, Inverness, Scotland, UK (YTT Croatia 2014, August 2014)

 

"The YTT course with Himalayan Yoga Institute in Croatia was one of the most challenging yet rewarding experiences of my life. It has transformed how I look at life and live my life, and I feel inspired to inspire others with the many life changing aspects of yogic philosophy and practice. Ganga offers a lot more than just a yoga teaching training course, and I feel very blessed to have had this experience in such a special place with very special people."

Alexa Massingham, Hong Kong (YTT Croatia 2014, August 2014)

 

I don't really know where to start and if I can put into words how I feel. You have single handily changed my life. I have had the most challenging yet amazing experience. Was so sad to leave you, but so happy to start the next chapter in my life! I am going to do the best I can. On the bus home I handed in my notice for all my high intensity classes and emailed various company's and places to offer my service as a yoga instructor. Within one day I have 4 meetings set up with people really interested. I feel like I am walking on a cloud! You are a very special person and am honoured to have spent time with you. I am eternally grateful to you, Ganga ❤️

Shelley Noble, Sunderland, UK (YTT Croatia 2014, August 2014)


This trainning is set up in a beautiful valley in Himachal Pradesh, the classes are very inspiring and nurturing. By the end of the course you come out with an understanding about Yoga that goes beyond the yoga mat practice, including philosophy and other practices like kriyas and how these can be incorporated in the modern life style. I highly recommend it.

Sebastian Diez, London, UK (YTT India, April 2014)

 

This course was more than I ever imagined. The level of detail in the theory and asana training and practice was fantastic. I have walked away more enlightened that I could have hoped. Every aspect was wonderful.

Allyson Johnstone, Melbourne Australia (YTT India, April 2014)

 

I loved this program. Ganga is a fountain of knowledge. The information I received was so valuable, inspiring and life changing. The program goes feather quickly but is very thorough. I can’t wait to take more trainings with her.

Mandy Hanson, Albuquerque, NM, USA (YTT India, October 2017)


 

Advanced 300h Yoga Teacher Training

 

 

An intensely magical experience in India. Learned so infinitely precious things from a wise, enlightened and incredibly talented teacher.

Juliane Porter, Columbia, MD, USA (Advanced YTT, 2018) 


"What I liked most about this training? Ganga, the principal teacher! I could not have had a better experience. Ganga was the light in all our hearts, a true yogini and a very skilled and experienced teacher. Ganga, you make all of the teachings deeply fascinating and you kept us in the moment every time you taught.

I feel that I have made immense progress and that my future practice will be way more stable and interesting. I will keep riding the wave and yoga will be the center of my life.

The accommodation and facilities were perfect! Very subtle and sentient setting. The food was brilliant and I always felt that my environment contributed to my practice and a very supportive and tranquilizing way.

Ganga's philosophy classes were the highlight of the training and my favourite part of the course. Ganga has such deep passion and understanding. All the subjects were conveyed in a pure and loving way. I simply could not get more excited. I felt like time had stopped. It was a big experience for me. So deeply inspiring. Thank you!

I loved every moment of the practical classes and workshops and to have a yogini like Ganga to help your practical experience is a big opportunity.

So many years of experience come to expression in Ganga's asana classes. She knows all the postures in profound detail. She is a loving example of what a regular asana practice can do to your being. My own practice and understanding has improved by light years.

I am so happy that Nishtha was my first Sanskrit teacher. I think it is rarely found that someone has such love for his subject. Nishtha went above and transcended theory by introducing us to the spiritual importance of Sanskrit. He inspired me to continue studying Sanskrit in the future.

I am deeply satisfied with this training. It was very informative, inspiring, challenging, loving and enlightening. It feels like everything was meant to be. This course provides true and traditional yoga for the true spiritual seeker. It was beyond all my expectations and I will never forget such a life-changing experience. I am so deeply moved and grateful for having been part of this training. I will keep developing my practice and teaching and I deeply hope to be able to contribute and participate in your future ashram and projects."

Sofus Leo Juncker-Jensen, Hellerup, Denmark (Advanced YTT)

 

"I loved that this was immersive and intensive so we were completely focused on our spiritual path with no distractions for a month. I especially enjoyed learning Indian history, Tantra, anatomy and the satsang.
The location is beautiful with all the amenities including hot showers, comfy beds and great roommates! The garden was lovely and the staff were brilliant.

Ganga, you have a wonderful organised way of teaching that conveys a lot of information in an efficient and timely way. I found it illuminating and deeply interesting.

I like how thorough you are with the key, most popular asanas.

The anatomy classes were amazing. I absolutely loved these classes. There was a lot of information and terminology but I felt I grasped all the concepts and could apply it to my spiritual path and understanding of teaching.

A wonderful month spent with beautiful souls that will stay in my heart always. I feel so blessed to have had this experience and will carry this joy, passion and love for yoga with me spreading and sharing it with all who are interested. Thank you for your love, passion and warmth."

Jodie Hall, London, UK (Advanced YTT)

 

"The environment was fantastic for this particular training and the teaching was of a very high standard. I find myself with a far superior knowledge of yoga now than I ever possibly would have gained from anywhere else. I enjoyed the focused time to dedicate to my practice and the depth of the training - the knowledge, the trainers, the asanas, the themed practical. The accommodation and facilities were very good. Ganga is a very good teacher with extensive knowledge and with incredible practical experience as well as being well-read on all topics covered. I feel honoured to be taught by her. I enjoyed the practical classes and workshops very much. Ganga's asana classes were excellent. The anatomy teacher had an excellent manner and was easy going. He conveyed the information in a very informative, easy to understand way - he was great. I feel very privileged to have shared this experience with such amazing, like-minded people.

Geetanjli Wouhra, Birmingham, UK (Advanced YTT)

 

"The location of the ashram was secluded in the beautiful countryside with Zen-like gardens.

I loved the accommodation and my roommates too! The entire cast was a fantastic group. Loved the home:)

Ganga's philosophy and theory classes were extremely thorough and gave a bundle of useful information. I am going away with so much information to continue study and read and spread my knowledge.

Ganga's asana classes helped me to feel strong leaving the month-long course. I feel like I gained strength in certain areas physically and also in my practice. I am forever grateful to have had this experience with you, Ganga. You have changed me in my way of thinking and my practice forever with my spirituality. I am excited to continue learning and deepening my practice because of you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for this experience. I cannot wait to come back and see you again someday!"

Jodi Screpnek, Los Angeles, USA (Advanced YTT)

 

"What I like most about this training was simply being with and learning from Ganga. The philosophy classes provided excellent content. I loved the asana classes and the way Ganga teaches them. The anatomy classes were excellent, the teacher has great teaching skills, comprehends the subject and made the classes fun. The accommodation and facilities were outstanding.

Thank you so much for everything. I truly enjoyed spending this past moth with you, Ganga, and fellow students in lovely India. I would like to return when your ashram is completed. Much love!"

Brooks Wilson, San Jose,Costa Rica, (Advanced YTT)

 

"I loved the balance of practice and theory, the depth, the intensity, generosity of the teachers and their spirituality, the theme-based classes and the participation in the cultural festival on Tantra.

Ganga is competent, passionate, inspiring and loving - in one word: an excellent teacher!

I loved the training and hope to have the honour to receive more training and mentoring from Ganga, to spend more time with her and have her support in my spiritual development. Not just a training but to embark on a spiritual journey. 

The program was comprehensive, offered a good balance of theory and practice, as well as opportunities to experience a yogic lifestyle. Ganga, the lead teacher is highly experienced, she shares with generosity and an open, warm heart. She is a role model and a strong, loving presence during the whole training. A comprehensive training in an ashram inspired setting with a highly experienced, committed and loving teacher. A holistic, intense and unique yoga experience that has a deep transformational impact. I loved it."

Rosaia Ruberto, Nairobi, Kenya (Advanced YTT)

 

"I liked the variety of topics we covered, which made this training really interesting, but I particularly enjoyed the practical topics such as yoga therapy.

I loved the venue - it was very peaceful and tranquil with wonderful staff.

Ganga makes the philosophy classes very interesting and her enthusiasm is infectious. As a highly pragmatic individual, I found her practical classes and workshops extremely interesting and very detailed.

Her asana classes were rigorous, challenging and she is a very knowledgeable teacher.

The anatomy teacher was wonderful. His classes were thoughtfully structured. He brilliantly used metaphor to help us understand sometimes complex topics. He was abundantly patient and clearly passionate about his subject.

This training was quite an experience! It has provoked thought and added breadth to my understanding of yoga. I suspect this reflection, questioning, research and application will continue for some months upon my return home."

Shona Garner, Doncaster, UK (Advanced YTT)

 

"I loved the intensity of the training, the focus and immersive nature. The accommodation and facilities were fantastic. Ganga's philosophy classes had fascinating depth and had a nice balance of storytelling and personal anecdotes - very inspiring. Her workshops and practical classes were always clear and informative and her asana classes were just great.

The anatomy classes provided fantastic detail and knowledge. The teacher was playful and gave helpful analogies when teaching complex topics. When is the next training retreat:)?"

Rachel Middleton, London, UK (Advanced YTT)

 

"I always wished to get the best available training and this was the case with the Himalayan Yoga Institute’s advanced course in India. I came to the school with four years of continuous and successful teaching experience behind me, as well as with a big need to be then led further; to be helped in taking a quantum leap to a new level both in my profession, as well as in my personal growth. The intense focus of the program; the uplifting, motivating and devoted teachers; the daily all-round yoga practice including pranayama, meditation, kiirtan, and the many hours of asanas practice etc., while at the same time being fed on some excellent sattvic food, and having a pleasing accommodation surrounded by lush tropical gardens in the beautiful South Indian countryside, was remarkable in itself. On top of it all I noticed an enormous transformational and beneficial effect, especially on my pranic body, cakras, mind - and beyond it – my soul. At the end, I felt deeply grateful to have been given the opportunity to attend this course. The theory lectures taught by Ganga, the primary teacher, offered a wonderful variety of topics and were delivered with so much respect, empathy and intention so as to provide for our best understanding. Special focus was given to the cakras and how asanas and other practices can be used to balance them and increase our sense of well-being. We were given great insight into the make-up of the cakras and then practically experienced working on our cakras through specifically designed cakra classes. It’s wonderful that I will be able to share these classes with my students in the future. The school gave special care to such essential topics like Sanskrit and Ayurveda in a way they could really serve us in practice, and in the long run, depending on our own degrees of interest. In a series of lessons on Ayurveda, a specialist and teacher from Kerala – the mother country of Ayurveda - opened my mind on how complex this science was in spite of being “simply” based on the observations of life and nature. Here again, and on more than one occasion, we were being educated on the principles of a multi-layered science, and in which workable ways it could best serve us. Ganga too added much to the understanding of Ayurveda with her clear exposition of some of the major tenets. Thanks to artfully led deep yoga immersion provided by her, I could taste myself what we were being taught in theory: the change of play of the three nature forces, or gunas and their influence on our constituent natures or doshas, so crucial to be grasped by advanced yogis. Indeed, on this course nothing from the timeless yogic tradition was left out. I would only add that the Himalayan Yoga Institute was never offering a peripheral approach to yoga, but always presented us with a possibility for the complete study and a meaningful experience. I would highly recommend this course to anyone with an interest in a holistic and comprehensive understanding of the more advanced yogic sciences."

Tanja Nikolic, Pula, Croatia (Advanced YTT)

 

The experience of the 300TT training with The Himalayan Yoga Institute in India has added much value to me as a yoga teacher but most of all as a yoga practitioner and as a human being. The month spent in the charming property In South India under the guidance of Ganga Devi has immersed us into the yogic lifestyle which touched me personally giving a deeper and clear sense to my practice and from here on transforming my yoga routine, my teaching and my life.

Cristina Berar, Abu Dhabi, UAE (Advanced YTT)

 

 

 

Yoga Retreats



Only one week of Rajadhiraja Yoga with Ganga Devi is enough to make big steps on your journey. From the first to the last day we were able to immerse ourselves in the deep experience of yoga and meditation. Being guided by Ganga lets you recognize and unfold yourself in a very deep way, which is the most beautiful thing to discover.
The island is breathtakingly beautiful, the air smells of all the wonderful herbs that grow wild on the island, the sea is crystal clear and the tranquility supports your body and mind completely in finding your own silence.
We have enjoyed delicious sattvic food and Ganga has brought us to beautiful secret beaches, where we could swim in the sparkling sea. I once said, that week felt like "bliss hopping". Its wonderful to know, there is a place where laugther and the absolute silence is welcome.
The retreat is a perfect symbiosis between Asana classes (inspiring and at the same time strong and gentle), meditation, kirtan and satsang, always lovingly and full of deep joy led by Ganga Devi, whose devotion to yoga carries you away and constantly awakens the desire for more. I felt energized, purified and full of joy after just one week - and this speaks for itself.
Thank you so much & Namaskar

Anna-Lea Guarisco, Zurich, Switzerland 

 

“This was one of my most amazing experiences; situated on the beautiful, peaceful Island of Mali, Losinj and overlooking the sea, where the air is fresh and the energy just felt right.

The other attendees without exception were incredibly lovely and kind. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to spend time with them.

Ganga is an incredibly well read, gifted and a skilful teacher with a calm and kind communication style. Whilst I was already familiar with the asana practice where Ganga maintains high standards and making regular adjustments to ensure the poses are fundamentally correct, I was newly introduced to the philosophy aspects with a series of captivating lectures, breathing classes, chanting in san script, the vegetarian diet and not lease the classical Indian dancing.

Throughout the week I felt highly energised and inspired in contrast to a normal week. As a result of this wonderful experience, I’m maintaining the vegetarian diet, seeking to understand the philosophy, spiritual aspects to a deeper level and working out how to integrate asana and meditation into my daily life. I cannot thank Ganga enough for the selfless hard work and dedication she put into the running the retreat and teaching me an alternative path.”

William Webber, London, UK

 

"Ganga is an incredible woman and a true inspiration. She is not only extremely knowledgeable in a wide range of subjects but is an amazing teacher, paying attention and taking care of all those on the course.

Sufficient time was given to ‘non-yoga’ activities and the two trips out as a group were perfect.

The course for me was a real experience and I have felt that my asanas have really improved over the week and I want to understand more about what yoga “really” is… to be able to answer the question ‘Who am I?’

Thank you Ganga with all my heart."

Sue Kinnear, Stoke-On-Trent, UK

 


"The yoga retreat in Croatia was one of my best and most important experience I ever had in life. I thank our teacher Ganga with all my heart for sharing this way of awakening with us, in this wonderful particular way of her, disciplined, all - embracing and loving. How exciting to practise yoga in this wonderful surrounding area, in this well preserved nature! We had the perfect way to submerge ourselves into the spirtual work. Colors of the sea you hardly get to see somewhere else. Pure Water, pure air and the colors of all the beautiful flowers and trees around us. It suffused my with joy and peace. It was a really nice retreat even more, because everything was in the spirit of yoga. Challenging, profoundly enjoying and also both togheter at one go. I especially loved the morning practise on the terrace of our house. But also the evening practise, the theorie classes, the chanting and kirtan. And even our conversations about things and life, swimming in this beautiful sea and the nice tasty food... I came back as a more loving person. With more love for life and all it's aspects. Two weeks are passed since the retreat finished and I still go one practising, the asanas, the meditation. I feel that I have now the tools to go on finding bliss. I'm in peace."

Deborah Leonetti, Geneva, Switzerland


"I had an amazing experience with Ganga in Croatia. She is an outstanding teacher, very knowledgeable and inspiring. The food was excellent and the surrounding environment very beautiful. Thank you so much for a life-changing experience. I am excited to see how my well-being improves as I continue my practice!!"

Michael Manville, Victoria, Canada

 

"I arrived at the retreat very stressed from a busy life in London. I left feeling like a new woman, completely relaxed at the end. The yoga and meditation was fantastic and I have learnt a great deal, which I hope to continue at home. Thank you, Ganga Devi."

Liz Varley, London, UK

 

"My yoga week in Mali Losinj was an adventure. I arrived without really understanding what yoga is. Now, seven days later, I have turned into the biggest yoga fan. I enjoyed every single class and felt increasingly better with every passing day. Ganga Devi was a great teacher and I have learnt so much! Thank you. The lectures about yogic diet and pranayama were excellent. I am taking so many new things back home with me.

The food served during the retreat was very delicious. I loved the fruit and tea in the morning - great for waking up in the morning and having a wonderful start of the day. I really liked every meal. I never expected to benefit in so many ways in just seven days. I feel very happy. Thank you!

Sabrina Kadiric, Zurich, Switzerland

 

If you want to experience what authentic yoga is all about , Ganga is your teacher. Her passion for yoga will radiate over you . I left the retreat so much more knowledgable about myself and yogic philosophy . I begin all my practices now with calming meditations and I can still hear Ganga's beautiful voice. Hope we meet again. Namaste.

Charlotte Ann Pragnall, Canada


“The retreat in India was a deeply intense experience for me.  It propelled me into a deeper relationship with my yoga practice.  I went to find inspiration and clarity, both of which I found. I came back with a clearer mind and with a stronger body. The venue was unique and allowed us all to immerse ourselves in the retreat. It was a privilege to stay in such a calm and pure place, the village, with the Himalayas in the distance was one of the most beautiful and inspiring places I have ever visited. I have looked for many years for a teacher to inspire me and this I found in Ganga. She is a truly enlightened teacher. I look forward to the next retreat!”

Sarah Orme, Glastonbury, UK 

 

“The most authentic, inspiring yoga retreat I could have hoped for. An absolute honour to be taught by Ganga and to learn and practise yoga in such an honest and compassionate way. Waking up each morning and watching the sun rise over the mountains would have been pleasure enough but the three hours of yoga that commenced made each day very special. As a beginner I was worried that I would find it hard work to practise so intensively but Ganga's classes are beautifully paced so you get to push yourself without feeling (too) uncomfortable. The lectures put everything we were doing into context and gave everyone a much deeper understanding of the reasons we were doing yoga in the first place. I would say everyone would benefit from doing a retreat like this, even if it's just to give you a fresh perspective on your existing life back at home. If you want something that will cleanse, re-energsie and re-invigorate your body and mind then this is the perfect retreat. I left feeling like I had experienced something very special.”

Cymbeline Kellett, London, UK

 

“The retreat in Ropa exceeded all my expectations. I was not at all prepared for what was in store - the depth of study, the very personal guidance we each received, the wonderful people and beautiful, enchanting surroundings, and most importantly the inspiring belief of Ganga Devi that was the driving force of it all. In one word, unforgettable.”

Alex Thomas, London, UK




"Ganga delivers a beautifully crafted yoga and wellness program in the most stunning surroundings nestled within the adriatic coast of Croatia. She teaches yoga with complete devotion and discipline. She also leads her students on contemplative walks and discussions on the beautiful beaches and around the spectacular villa accommodations of Mali Losinj. A truly rejuvenating holiday."

Mona Chawla, London, UK


 

"The retreat is a peaceful place in the middle of a beautiful, small village. The landscape and people around are just lovely and the view on the Himalayas is spectacular. Our group was spoiled by two nice chefs who prepared delicious food for us every day. The yoga classes were challenging and really helped me improve my flexibility. Ganga shared her wisdom and deep knowledge about yoga with us and I learned more in these 2 weeks then I did in the past 3 years I practiced yoga. The atmosphere in the retreat was open, friendly and very cheerful and I felt sad when I had to go back home."

Ute Bernhardt, Germany

 

"The Himalayan retreat experience has been a revelation and of huge benefit for my own personal development and spiritual growth. The experience for me was phenomenal on so many levels, a totally life - mind, body, spirit - transforming retreat. I feel so blessed to have had this opportunity to see the beautiful, vivid and vibrant natural colours that belong to our planet Earth that seemed to just vibrate peace, love and tranquillity. The natural cool spring water that flowed through the village from those majestic mountains was like heavenly nectar, purifying and nurturing. A true gift, felt like a piece of Heaven on Earth. It’s like I journeyed into a different dimension, like I took a step into a mystical realm.  It was truly a journey to the top of the world, with views like that of masterpiece paintings. 
The daily practise, authentic Eastern yoga as researched by the ancient Yogis, was taught and practised twice a day for hours, as well as, a daily class in Yoga Truths, Kirtan, Meditation and beauty-filled SILENT, contemplative walks in a heavenly lush green village with scenic views of the divine majestic Himalayan mountain peaks. For me it was a journey of self discovery. It was like having a massage for the heart and a lifetime experience I will cherish and gladly repeat. Just reminiscing about it fills me and vibrates my cells with divine joy and bliss."

Asha Joshi, UK 

 

 

Pregnancy Yoga Teacher Training Testimonials

 

"The pregnancy training course was a wonderful addition to Ganga's previous 200 hr training I attended several years ago (or for any other yoga training). For those looking to expand their teachings to students who are pregnant, I highly recommend this course. We were graciously welcomed into Ganga's home, where we lived, cooked and meditated together. Living together, sharing our experiences, being surrounded by strong confident women, was a true blessing to be cherished. 

After breakfast we took a nice stroll to the course location for our day of training. The venue was beautiful, and we were provided with a delicious homemade Sri Lankan lunch daily. After having two difficult pregnancies of my own, overwhelmed by doctors and hospitals, I was extremely uplifted and motivated by this course, as you are given the tools to guide your students safely through their journey of pregnancy, provide them with useful ways to cope with ailments, and difficulties they may meet before, during and after pregnancy. Most importantly, you learn to bring the Divine into the pregnancy.

Unfortunately these days so many pregnant women are treated as "patients" with a "sickness." With the knowledge and advice Ganga brings to this course, you leave feeling that you truly can bring the love, and miracle back into pregnancy. You will be able to create a 'haven' for your students to peacefully connect to their babies, and care for themselves through the many changes of pregnancy. One class was even taught by a local midwife, Emma, who was a pure joy. She gave a wonderful course on anatomy and even, with the kind help of one of our pregnant students, gave us a true hands-on experience on how to find, and locate different parts of the baby inside. The  knowledge gained on this course was immense, and truly a must for anyone looking to expand their education and broaden their teachings."

Erika Bugakova, Moscow, Russia

 

"I’ve completed a one week course with Ganga Devi in July 2018, and as part of our certification qualification we were asked to observe a class either recorded on video or a live pregnancy yoga class. I can honestly say that having watched each one of the videos numerous times to record every detail, right to the last second of every asana movement, I have come to realise how vastly different Ganga’s teaching is compared to all that I watched.

Ganga is disciplined and very precise with her information, providing clear instructions and adjustments. Throughout the week-long course she emphasised and repeatedly ensured that we as future teachers give the correct, consistent and precise message to students.

I am privileged to have learnt from Ganga how to conduct a safe, engaging and beneficial pregnancy yoga class for pregnant mothers. I am also very glad to have had to assess the three sample pregnancy classes as part of the assignment. This exercise provided me with an opportunity to compare and contrast. As a consequence of this critical observation, I would safely and most categorically state that Ganga Devi’s pregnancy yoga training far exceeds in its delivery and is professionally conducted from start to end. Ganga Devi also invited a midwife who spent an afternoon with us extending our knowledge of the pelvis and birth canal and confirmed the importance of a separate pregnancy yoga teacher training to help pregnant women.

Ganga's pregnancy yoga training is highly recommended for its excellence and professionalism."

Kala O’Donnell, Randalstown, Northern Ireland 

 

"Before attending this Pregnancy Yoga TTC, I imagined prenatal yoga to be helpful yes, but not as exciting as it turned out to be. Yet, what if those classes were not merely an adaptation to the state of being pregnant, but also a practical guidance into its potential to heighten one’s intuition and bond with the divine nature. I was presented with that kind of approach here. During an amazing week of fun and work, our teacher Ganga gave a new dimension to the prenatal yoga by using an inspired variety of yogic tools - we became acquainted with so much! - for the development of expectant mothers and their babies. Overall, it was great to learn what a rich source and support yoga can be in the process of growing a new life. Ganga created a nurturing and love-brimming circle for the pregnant women and future teachers, and presented a pregnancy yoga which is precious and worth carrying out."

Tanja Nikolić, Pula, Croatia


 

Yoga Classes


I've been having 1-on-1 classes with her and they've basically changed my life. I have a history of back problems and pain. I've tried LOTS of different things over the years and yoga with Ganga is without a doubt the most helpful, beneficial and life-enhancing. She works me hard, but she is hugely encouraging and I feel like I'm floating with zen on my way home. Ganga tells me what the pose is, what it will benefit, and then how I can get it just right. She is a very spiritual woman, and yoga is obviously not a job to her - it's her way of life, and that comes through and is also infectious. I'm just glad to have found her nearby. Big fan. Thanks Ganga! 

Esra Cafer, London. UK


Best yoga teacher ever!

I have been going to Ganga’s classes for almost a year now and have made much more progress in that time than in many years of yoga prior to that. Her classes always make you feel great, and are also fun.
One thing I find in yoga classes sometimes is that either you have something quite slow and precise where you get into the correct positions but you dont get your heart rate going, or it's quite fast and energetic but there isn't much focus on ensuring that poses are done correctly. One of the best things about her classes is that she strikes a balance between these two things - so you feel you have had a good workout but she also ensures people try as hard as they can to do each pose to the best of their ability.

Poppy Lyle, London, UK


I feel very privileged to have Ganga as a teacher. Her classes are both invigorating and spiritually uplifting. A sanctuary in the city.

Lizzie Greene, London, UK

 

 

Pregnancy Yoga Classes


I found the pregnancy yoga classes with Ganga to be extremely beneficial to both me and my baby. The yoga helped me to relax and connect with my baby throughout the duration of my pregnancy, and it also helped me to prepare me for the birth.  Ganga is a wonderful teacher. She is a calm, gentle and genuine person who fully inspires and encourages others to reach their own attainable goals. I sincerely cannot provide a higher recommendation than I do for Ganga.

Ellie Larkin, London, UK (Pregnancy Yoga Classes 2013/14)


I’ve been practicing yoga under Ganga’s guidance for about three years now. Though I’ve heard the cliché from others about the benefits of yoga, I too wholeheartedly mean it when I say that yoga has changed my life – my physical and metaphysical wellbeing have never been better. And never have I felt the benefits of practice, and Ganga’s guidance, more than I have this year as she has guided my practice throughout the whole of my pregnancy.

She has seamlessly adapted our practice to my ever-changing shape and abilities, playing a crucial part in helping to physically and mentally prepare me for labour and birth. All with a level of expertise, warmth and individual care that I feel highly blessed to have found. I have had a great pregnancy. I am now one day overdue and still feel very well, practice all the time, and plan to take all that Ganga has taught me into the delivery room. I cannot provide a higher recommendation than I do for Ganga. The trust and esteem I feel for her could not be higher.

Esra Cafer, London. UK (Pregnancy Yoga Classes 2014)

 
 

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Pintrest

Himalayan Yoga Institute. Mount Pleasant Road, London N7 6JQ, UK. Phone: +44-7969-157994 Email: info@himalayanyogainstitute.com